P.O. Box 240147 Anchorage, Alaska 99503 www.akredistrict.org 907.563.0300



John Binkley, Chair Melanie Bahnke Nicole Borromeo Bethany Marcum Budd Simpson

## ALASKA REDISTRICTING BOARD

## AMENDED INTERIM PROCLAMATION OF REDISTRICTING

**WHEREAS**, Article VI of the Alaska Constitution requires the Alaska Redistricting Board to reapportion the House of Representatives and the Senate immediately following the official reporting of each decennial census of the United States; and

**WHEREAS**, the United States Bureau of the Census conducted a census of the United States on April 1, 2020 and reported the results of the census to the State of Alaska on August 12, 2021; and

**WHEREAS**, the Alaska Redistricting Board was duly constituted in August 2020 and undertook its constitutional responsibilities for preparing a redistricting plan for the State of Alaska; and

**WHEREAS**, the Alaska Redistricting Board adopted draft redistricting plans on September 9, 2021, in conformity with Article VI, section 10 of the Alaska Constitution, requiring that the Board adopt a draft plan or plans within 30 days of the reporting of the Census results for Alaska; and

**WHEREAS**, the Alaska Redistricting Board held numerous public hearings throughout the state in conformity with Article VI, section 10 of the Alaska Constitution; and

**WHEREAS**, the Alaska Redistricting Board strictly adhered to the requirements of Article VI, Section 6 of the Alaska Constitution and the "Hickel process" outlined by the Alaska Supreme Court to draw districts consisting of contiguous and compact territory containing as nearly as practicable relatively integrated socio-economic areas and a population as near as practicable to 18,335; and

**WHEREAS**, adhering to Article VI, Section 3 of the Alaska Constitution, the Board did not adjust, alter or modify the Census enumerated population or Census block geography; and

**WHEREAS**, the Alaska Redistricting Board adopted its 2021 Plan and Proclamation of Redistricting on November 10, 2021 in conformity with the constitutional requirement that it do so within 90 days of the reporting of the Census results for Alaska; and

**WHEREAS**, the Alaska Redistricting Board adopted an Amended Plan and Proclamation of Redistricting on April 13, 2022 in response to orders from the Alaska Superior Court and the Alaska Supreme Court regarding Cantwell and Senate District K; and

**WHEREAS**, the Alaska Superior Court and Alaska Supreme Court directed that the Alaska Redistricting Board address errors with Senate District E, and make other necessary adjustments to the April 2022 Amended Proclamation Plan by adopting an interim plan for the 2022 statewide election.

NOW, THEREFORE, THE ALASKA REDISTRICTING BOARD, hereby does PROCLAIM, ON THIS DAY May 24, 2022

First, that the state house and senate election districts described in this Redistricting Proclamation and in the report accompanying this Redistricting Proclamation, shall be implemented for legislative elections in the year 2022, and thereafter, until replaced by a valid Redistricting Proclamation adopted by this Board or following the next decennial census; and

Second, that the terms of Senate incumbents B, D, F, H, J, L and N under the 2013 Redistricting Proclamation labeling system are hereby truncated because those Senate Districts have been substantially changed by this Redistricting Proclamation, and that the term of the incumbent of Senate District T, not be truncated because that Senate District is substantially unchanged; and

Third, that Senate districts be assigned to election cycles according to the following schedule, using the 2021 Senate District designations in this Redistricting Proclamation:

Elected in 2022, 2026, 2030	Elected in 2024, 2028, 2032
Α	В
С	D
E	F
G	Н
I	J
K	L
M	N
Ο	Р
Q	R
S	Т

Fourth, that the metes and bounds district descriptions appended to this Redistricting Proclamation may be used to resolve inconsistencies between district boundaries and topographic features.

Dated this 24th day of May, 2022.

John Binkley of Fairbanks, Chair

Nicole Borromeo, of Anchorage

Bethany Marcum, of Anchorage

Melanie Bahnke, of Nome

E. Budd Simpson, of Juneau