P.O. Box 240147 Anchorage, Alaska 99503 www.akredistrict.org 907.563.0300



John Binkley, Chair Melanie Bahnke Nicole Borromeo Bethany Marcum Budd Simpson

ALASKA REDISTRICTING BOARD

FINAL PROCLAMATION OF REDISTRICTING

WHEREAS, Article VI of the Alaska Constitution requires the Alaska Redistricting Board to reapportion the House of Representatives and the Senate immediately following the official reporting of each decennial census of the United States; and

WHEREAS, the United States Bureau of the Census conducted a census of the United States on April 1, 2020 and reported the results of the census to the State of Alaska on August 12, 2021; and

WHEREAS, the Alaska Redistricting Board was duly constituted in August 2020 and undertook its constitutional responsibilities for preparing a redistricting plan for the State of Alaska; and

WHEREAS, the Alaska Redistricting Board adopted draft redistricting plans on September 9, 2021, in conformity with Article VI, section 10 of the Alaska Constitution, requiring that the Board adopt a draft plan or plans within 30 days of the reporting of the Census results for Alaska; and

WHEREAS, the Alaska Redistricting Board held numerous public hearings throughout the state in conformity with Article VI, section 10 of the Alaska Constitution; and

WHEREAS, the Alaska Redistricting Board strictly adhered to the requirements of Article VI, Section 6 of the Alaska Constitution and the "Hickel process" outlined by the Alaska Supreme Court to draw districts consisting of contiguous and compact territory containing as nearly as practicable relatively integrated socio-economic areas and a population as near as practicable to 18,335; and

WHEREAS, adhering to Article VI, Section 3 of the Alaska Constitution, the Board did not adjust, alter or modify the Census enumerated population or Census block geography; and

WHEREAS, the Alaska Redistricting Board adopted its 2021 Plan and Proclamation of Redistricting on November 10, 2021 in conformity with the constitutional requirement that it do so within 90 days of the reporting of the Census results for Alaska; and

WHEREAS, the Alaska Redistricting Board adopted an Amended Plan and Proclamation of Redistricting on April 13, 2022 in response to orders from the Alaska Superior Court and the Alaska Supreme Court regarding Cantwell and Senate District K; and

WHEREAS, the Alaska Supreme Court directed that the Alaska Redistricting Board address errors with Senate District E, and make other necessary adjustments to the April 2022 Amended Proclamation Plan by adopting an interim plan for the 2022 statewide election; and

WHEREAS, the Board has determined that the Interim Plan for the 2022 election shall now become the Final Proclamation Plan.

NOW, THEREFORE, THE ALASKA REDISTRICTING BOARD, hereby does PROCLAIM, ON THIS DAY May 15. 2023

First, that the state house and senate election districts described in this Redistricting Proclamation and in the report accompanying this Redistricting Proclamation, shall be implemented for legislative elections in the year 2024, and thereafter, until replaced by a valid Redistricting Proclamation adopted by this Board or following the next decennial census; and

Second, no revisions to the Senate truncation report adopted in May 2022 are required because substantial changes have not been made; and

Third, that Senate districts be assigned to election cycles according to the following schedule, using the Senate District designations in this Redistricting Proclamation:

Elected in 2022, 2026, 2030	Elected in 2024, 2028, 2032
Α	В
С	D
E	F
G	Н
1	J
К	L
M	N
0	P
Q	R
S	Т

Fourth, that the metes and bounds district descriptions appended to this Redistricting Proclamation may be used to resolve inconsistencies between district boundaries and topographic features.

Dated this 15th day of May, 2023.

John Binkley of Fairbanks, Chair

Melanie Bahnke, of Nome

Nicole Borromeo, of Anchorage

Bethany Maroom, of Anchorage

E. Budd Simpson, of Juneau

5. Bud